Cross-stitched bibs

Way back, when I was a young girl, my mom tried to get me into cross-stitch.

It didn’t take.

I had delayed motor skills when I was a child, so much so that I fumbled with every zipper and couldn’t even tie my own shoes until about the third grade. So, you can see where threading a tiny needle and trying to match up those x’s was quite complicated.

Well, several years later my second effort went much better!

Image

I kind of did the cheater’s method and bought this bib kit from Walmart. No Aida fabric or anything. It’s great practice learning to read a pattern with an outline before having to transfer it all mentally, like you would if you used Aida fabric.

I don’t know if it’ll be my new craft or not yet. I used to be an enthusiastic knitter, but I was never very good and I always found it sort of frustrating. Another thing I like about cross-stitch is that if you get bored using one color you can take a break once you’ve used up that thread and work on another section. In knitting, you pretty much have to go in order of the pattern.

I don’t know if I’ll actually get to use these bibs. The back is a little bit of a mess because I don’t know what I’m doing. Usually, when I start a new craft, I bug my mom until I get it. I’m teaching myself cross-stitch and I don’t understand anything yet, haha. I can see myself throwing it in the wash only to have the back unravel in the most ridiculous way.

Anyone else enjoy cross-stitch, or any other sort of hand craft, for that matter?

3 thoughts on “Cross-stitched bibs

  1. Cross-stitch, sadly, is not on my resume. But my husband has developed an interest, and is going to teach himself how by watching videos and so forth. Whattaguy! When he learns, maybe he’ll teach me. By the way, those are really cute bibs (I make bibs), and I love the sayings. They may pop up on one of the bibs I make in the near future. 😆 Did they come with those pictures/sayings, or did you have to add them?

  2. Pingback: Let’s talk about Counted Cross Stitch | Treasures By The Sea

Leave a Reply

