Sewing machine review

This is a review done for the sew mama sew sewing machine reviews.

photo

What brand and model do you have?

I have a Bernina 215.

How long have you had it?

I got it as a present from my parents last year for Christmas.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?

I honestly can’t remember how much we paid for it… I know it was on sale at the sewing machine store by the mall.

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?

Mainly clothing, with a few home dec projects. I’d like to branch out and work on handbags as well.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?

A few times a week, when I can get the opportunity. For a long time, the machine was at my mom’s house and I wasn’t able to access it regularly. I’m hoping to work on it a lot more now that it’s finally in my craft room!

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?

I don’t have a name for her, but I LOVE my machine. I think I’m pretty fortunate that ALL the machines I’ve ever sewn on have been Berninas. I learned how to sew on my mom’s Bernina, and we managed to find this one at a decent price. It’s definitely a work horse, and has been great as a beginner’s machine. It’s very forgiving and easy to use.

What features does your machine have that work well for you?

Easy threading, and all the stitches are very easy to switch over to. It’s also easy to change the needle to up/down, or adjust the length, whatever you need. There’s also an automatic threader, but I’ve actually never used it.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?

Not so far!

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?

Yes! Like I said before, it makes a great beginner’s machine and it very forgiving. Considering the fact I had never threaded a machine before I got this one, I can say first hand how easy it is to use.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?

Take into consideration what kind of sewing you’d like to do. Visit a variety of different places, and try out the machines when you can. One person’s dream machine might not work for you.

Do you have a dream machine?

Maybe an upper end Bernina? I have been converted and likely won’t go back!

Leave a Reply

